51 unge førere i Academy Trophy

The CIK-FIA Karting Academy Trophy is a one-of-a-kind competition designed to bring together the world’s best hopefuls on equal terms. Young Drivers between the ages of 12 and 14 represent their country at the wheel of identical randomly drawn karts, with Exprit chassis and Vortex engines from the OK-Junior category, equipped with Bridgestone tyres.

The list of entries of the 2017 edition includes 51 Drivers, including six females, from 39 nations on five continents. Chile, Colombia, Kuwait, Morocco and Peru are among the new countries attracted by this Competition where the skill of the participants takes precedence over the financial aspect.

As every year, the FIA «Women in Motor Sport» Commission supports the participation of a young female in this Trophy. This year, 12-year-old Colombian Valeria Vargas Garcia was chosen because of her motivation and the promising results of her career in karting which started six years ago.

Throughout the seasons, since its launch in 2010, the CIK-FIA’s one-make introduction to International Competition has continued to meet with success and reveal the future talents of tomorrow’s motor sport. For its 8th edition, the CIK-FIA Karting Academy Trophy is filled with young Drivers from around the world who are determined to enrich their experience and get noticed. 

OTK Kart Group, which won the tender for the chassis and engines for the CIK-FIA Karting Academy Trophy for the 2016, 2017 and 2018 seasons, is also continuing its efforts in terms of prizes. The winner of the CIK-FIA Karting Academy Trophy will be invited to participate in the CIK-FIA World Junior Championship held at PF International (GBR) in September 2017 in one of the official teams of the OTK Kart Group. The CIK-FIA will also offer the top five of the general ranking of the 2017 Academy Trophy, free of charge entry to the 2018 CIK-FIA Championship of their choice. This prize can be valued on average at €2000 per Driver.

2017 CIK-FIA Karting Academy Trophy Schedule

– 14th May 2017, Genk (BEL), 1/3

– 2nd July 2017, Le Mans (FRA), 2/3

– 23rd July, Alahärmä (FIN), 3/3

Comments are closed.